Life in the Real World
Life in the Real World
Who Mothers The Wind
19
0:00
-1:22

Who Mothers The Wind

January 30, 2022
19

I thought I’d try a little audio this week, experimenting with new things! The text of the poem I read is below, along with some photos of beauty created recently by the wind. At the end I’ve attached a link to a video of the wind making the ice sing.

Who mothers the wind? 
Who gives her courage and confidence
to step out on her own, 
to blow her own way?

Fierce one day
and quiet the next.
To do her thing despite never pleasing everyone
or anyone
too much, too little, too warm, too cold
never enough.

Who helped the wind find
her own inner impulse and ignore the 
well meaning feedback of others?
When she howls and rages 
where does she find comfort?

Who tells the wind her mercurial nature
is ok
wanted
needed
natural
nothing to be ashamed of?

Does she feel the softness
of feathers riding on her back?
Does she see the sun laughing
as she and the water play
creating ice sculptures on the rocks?
When she is still does she know
she still exists?

Perhaps the same mother
who nudges me and says 
look,
there,
see my wind daughter at play?
See the beauty she creates
with her gifts?
See how she lifts the birds
and makes the ice sing?

After all, 
what is a mother
really
but one who sees all that you are
and delights 
in your presence?

I think the wind left a tiny angel on the toe of this ice giant

I attempted to catch the sounds of the ice singing as the wind was blowing the waves into it. I don’t think it does it justice really - it was echoing all up and down the cove and I could feel the vibrations through the earth into my body - but it was the best I could do to share it. I learned the term for this is “acoustic resonance” but I just think of it as the singing voice of ice.

(The sound was intermittent, captured over the course of an hour but edited for brevity!)

The Sounds of Ice

Love to know your thoughts on how the audio worked in this post and anything else you’d like to share!

My wish for all of you is that you feel a sense of being mothered - a sense of feeling seen, valued and loved - as I feel mothered by the lake and all of my feathered, furry and leaf covered friends there.

Thanks for reading Life in the Real World! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

Share

19 Comments
Life in the Real World
Life in the Real World
Meditations on Nature and Life
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Karen Davis
Recent Episodes
  Karen Davis
  Karen Davis
  Karen Davis
  Karen Davis